Reflected Emotional Responses, Another Assuption that makes us all Asses

Have you ever noticed things about yourself that irritates you?

I do all the time.

Since I have recently started my “New Me” resolutions, I am taking notice and changing those things.

Last night I was chatting with a friend about a contest we both had interest in, She was a Judge, I was the MC. Anyway, I ended up having a moment where I realized I projected my personal feeling onto her, expected her to have the same emotional response I had, and that is wrong.

Now I put myself in a place where I assumed her feeling would reflect my own. I made an ass of myself.

I didn’t do it on purpose, but I realize it isn’t the conscious actions and reactions that show our prejudices and ignorance but the unconscious ones.

So my “New Me” Resolution for today, Feel my own feelings and let others do the same.

What resolution would you make for yourself today?

 

2 thoughts on “Reflected Emotional Responses, Another Assuption that makes us all Asses

  1. AuthorTLGray says:

    I’m proud of you. Keep blogging.

  2. […] Reflected Emotional Responses, Another Assuption that makes us all Asses (jennasands2.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

