Insomnia

I believe this is a pretty well researched topic, so I’m not going to do the usual, this is what it is and how to deal with it. I will instead tell you of my journey dealing with it.

Insomnia for me started at an early age and part of that is I love the night and the dark. I never had a fear of the dark, and when as a very young child I shared a room with my little sister, I would have to wait for her to go to sleep then turn her night light off and close the door.

Then at seven, I went to live with my Father and while I still had no fear of the night or the dark, I did develop a fear of going to sleep.

So we will fast forward to present day, I still over twenty years later have the fear of going to sleep, and it has now turned into a phobia, I literally have to pass out to get to sleep.

I found that I go through cycles, periods where my sleep pattern and the times I sleep change.

Right now, I’m in my morning phase, I pass out around 5 am and sleep till noon, then I may or may not require a nap during the rest of the day. This is my usual sleep pattern.

Sometimes I will go through a phase where I sleep every other day for about twelve hours and can pass out at any time for that twelve-hour sleep. This is usually started when I have something important to do and must be somewhere at a specific time. I usually cycle out of this pattern in about two weeks.

Another of my patterns and this one happens randomly usually about once every six to twelve months where I will be awake three to five days, then pass out for two to three days of strait sleep, I don’t even go to the bathroom.

Then I have my periods where for some reason I sleep all night every night from about 11 pm to around 7 am. I have no idea why and can usually enjoy this phenomenon for about two to four weeks.

Finally, I have my anti Insomnia periods. This is when I am so stressed or physically exhausted that my body shits down for about eighteen to twenty-four hours then I will be awake up to four hours and sleep another eighteen to twenty-four hours, this cycle can last up to a week before I have “healed” enough to enter another of my cycles.

So, I hope sharing this with you lets you realize that if you don’t sleep eight hour a night every night that you’re alone in this, you aren’t.

If you are having trouble sleeping take the time to have a conversation with your doctor, it may be something they can help you overcome, but like everything else in life it’s all about managing what you can and if you can’t, it’s never wrong to ask for help.

One thought on “Insomnia

  1. Thanks for every other informative web site. Where else could I am getting that type of information written in such a
    perfect approach? I’ve a project that I’m just now working on,
    and I have been on the glance out for such information.

Leave a Reply

