Keeping Your Hand In

Image picture from “http://www.ocls.lib.fl.us/Children/Teen/beit/poetry_be_it.asp”

What to do? What to do?

I have taken the steps and used the tools and tricks of the trade to complete, polish and submit a written work of fiction for possible publication. so I ask again,

What do I do?

Can I just sit here a stagnate?  Do I bite my nails and watch my e-mail inbox waiting for the ding that signals an incoming message?

Well, I can do that or I can put on my big girl panties, my shit kicker boots, and take my ‘I’m in charge whip’ in hand and do it all again.

Now, some of you might be thinking, ‘I can’t do that, it took so much out of me to finish this last story.’

It’s very true that writing is a “LABOR” of love and our stories are like our own children. But, as I told one writer friend. “Unlike your children, you can send your work to a new mother. A story isn’t going to miss and mourn you.”  It sounds cruel but trust me some of us need that kick in the butt.

So the answer to my question is definitely, do it all over again.

Are you ready for a new story, what else do you have in you?

 

Leave a Reply

