Busy, Busy Little Writer Elf

Image picture courtesy of: http://8020nyc.com/the-shoemaker-and-the-elves-gift-of-kindess/

I have had a very busy and productive weekend.

As I have mentioned I am preparing for November and National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo.

By some quirk of my dysfunctional mind I find myself with two accounts on nanowrimo.org where the challenge is held.

Instead of just deleting one or the other, I’ve decided to do a novel for each account.

(silence for the audience)

Okay, so I’m nuts, we already knew that.

Anyway, each novel has a 50,000 word goal for the thirty days of November.

Even worse I have to build the entire worlds and characters and plot and back story, all those things that give a story meat.

“Oh come on! Authors just sit down at a keyboard and let the words flow, right?” asks every non writer everywhere.

Well, not exactly.

Some writers can write in the “pantser” style, writing by the seat of their pants.

Some can only pants some stories depending on length and complication.

Then there is me.

I have to know what is going on and when or at least a structures suggestion of same.

And now once again we are back to my busy weekend.

A friend gave me a writing program and I just love it, it helped a lot.

I use the free program YWriter now and will continue to use it in conjunction with The Writer’s DreamKit.

WDK or Dramatica as it is also called, asked me questions that lead me into thinking more in depth about the plot, character, motivation and goals of the Novel.

I’m some what new to this writing at a productive level, having only dabbled before joining scribophile.com in January of this year.

Well, I have both novels ready for chapter and scene outlines and that is what I will be working on till Friday.

I’m taking the weekend off, than diving in full force on the 1st.

I just have to decide if I’m going to work on one novel a day or break the day into section to work on both.

I guess we will just have to see how it works out, trying both methods.

One thought on “Busy, Busy Little Writer Elf

  1. AuthorTLGray says:

    You have been busy! Good for you!

Leave a Reply

