Therapy Appointment Followup

Image picture credit to: http://www.healthshire.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/depression-quotes-300×225.jpg

I had my second talk therapy (psychotherapy) appointment yesterday.

It wiped me out, I cried like a baby (for me anyway), and by the time I got home I was ready to sleep.

Although I was exhausted, I also felt peaceful, calm but not closed off.

The picture included in this post is pretty accurate on how I usually feel, yesterday I felt like I found the first breadcrumb to lead me back.

My therapist suggested CPT (Cognitive Processing Therapy), Its an intensive 12 week (twelve appointments) program that takes you into the memories and teaches you how to cope and move past them. (very simplified explanation).

The most encouraging part, the literature he gave me says that some PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) sufferers come out of the completed therapy no longer meet the criteria for the PTSD diagnosis.

I’ve decided to do the therapy, here’s to being hopeful and optimistic but staying realistic.

Leave a Reply

