Impulse Control and Addiction Disorders

Image picture credit to: http://batonrougecounseling.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/01/AddictionCycle.jpg

My friend webmd.com classifies Impulse Control and Addiction Disorders as:

http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/default.htm

  • Impulse control and addiction disorders: People with impulse control disorders are unable to resist urges, or impulses, to perform acts that could be harmful to themselves or others. Pyromania (starting fires), kleptomania (stealing), and compulsive gambling are examples of impulse control disorders. Alcohol and drugs are common objects of addictions. Often, people with these disorders become so involved with the objects of their addiction that they begin to ignore responsibilities and relationships.

I’m thankful I have never personally suffered from wither of these categories, though they have touched my life.

My most horrific memories as a child can be traced back to someone else addictions, and it still effects me to this day.

While I don’t have an impulse control disorder, Bipolar Disorder can effect your impulse control and I have had problems with that control, but while I have urges to do dangerous and harmful things, I can control the impulse.

These conditions in my opinion have the most adverse effect on those around you, but that is just my opinion and experience.

As with all conditions I am covering in my mental health series if you suspect your being effected by any symptom or condition, please consult a mental health professional, and remember you are not alone.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(I am not a mental Health Professional and in no way am I giving medical advice)

*If you have or are experiencing +Mental or +Emotional +Illness, there is nothing to be ashamed of, you did nothing wrong and there is hope and help out there for you. You are not alone.*

 

http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

Call 24/7  1-800-273-82551-800-273-8255

 

http://crisiscallcenter.org/crisisservices.html

This web site is not intended for use as an emergency service. If you or someone you know is in a life-threatening situation, please call 911 immediately.

You may also call our 24-hour Crisis Lines at 775-784-8090775-784-8090 or the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-82551-800-273-8255 to speak immediately with a crisis interventionist.

Leave a Reply

